Full List Of African Countries And Capitals.

Africa, the second-largest continent, is a land of incredible diversity, encompassing a myriad of cultures, languages, and landscapes. This article presents a comprehensive list of African countries and their respective capitals, highlighting the unique identities and characteristics of each nation. From the vast deserts of the Sahara to the lush rainforests of the Congo Basin, Africa’s countries and capitals reflect the continent’s rich history, natural beauty, and vibrant communities.

The whole of Africa can be considered as a vast plateau rising steeply from narrow coastal strips and consisting of ancient crystalline rocks. The plateau’s surface is higher in the southeast and tilts downward toward the northeast. In general the plateau may be divided into a southeastern portion and a northwestern portion. The northwestern part, which includes the Sahara (desert) and that part of North Africa known as the Maghrib, has two mountainous regions—the Atlas Mountains in northwestern Africa, which are believed to be part of a system that extends into southern Europe, and the Ahaggar (Hoggar) Mountains in the Sahara.

The southeastern part of the plateau includes the Ethiopian Plateau, the East African Plateau, and—in eastern South Africa, where the plateau edge falls downward in a scarp—the Drakensberg range. One of the most remarkable features in the geologic structure of Africa is the East African Rift System, which lies between 30° and 40° E. The rift itself begins northeast of the continent’s limits and extends southward from the Eritrean Red Sea coast to the Zambezi River basin.

Full List Of African Countries And Capitals.

African Countries And Capitals

North Africa

North Africa, the region that borders the Mediterranean Sea, consists of countries with cultural and historical ties to the Arab world. The countries in this region and their capitals are:

  • Algeria: Algiers
  • Egypt: Cairo
  • Libya: Tripoli
  • Mauritania: Nouakchott
  • Morocco: Rabat
  • Sudan: Khartoum
  • Tunisia: Tunis

West Africa

West Africa is characterized by its vibrant cultures, diverse ethnicities, and stunning landscapes. The countries in this region and their capitals are:

  • Benin: Porto-Novo
  • Burkina Faso: Ouagadougou
  • Cape Verde: Praia
  • Côte d’Ivoire (Ivory Coast): Yamoussoukro (political capital) and Abidjan (economic capital)
  • The Gambia: Banjul
  • Ghana: Accra
  • Guinea: Conakry
  • Guinea-Bissau: Bissau
  • Liberia: Monrovia
  • Mali: Bamako
  • Niger: Niamey
  • Nigeria: Abuja
  • Senegal: Dakar
  • Sierra Leone: Freetown
  • Togo: Lomé

Central Africa

Central Africa is characterized by its lush rainforests, diverse wildlife, and vibrant cultures. The countries in this region and their capitals are:

  • Cameroon: Yaoundé
  • Central African Republic: Bangui
  • Chad: N’Djamena
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo: Kinshasa
  • Republic of the Congo: Brazzaville
  • Equatorial Guinea: Malabo
  • Gabon: Libreville
  • São Tomé and Príncipe: São Tomé

East Africa

East Africa is known for its stunning landscapes, diverse wildlife, and vibrant cultural heritage. The countries in this region and their capitals are:

  • Burundi: Bujumbura
  • Comoros: Moroni
  • Djibouti: Djibouti City
  • Eritrea: Asmara
  • Ethiopia: Addis Ababa
  • Kenya: Nairobi
  • Madagascar: Antananarivo
  • Malawi: Lilongwe
  • Mauritius: Port Louis
  • Mozambique: Maputo
  • Rwanda: Kigali
  • Seychelles: Victoria
  • Somalia: Mogadishu
  • South Sudan: Juba
  • Tanzania: Dodoma (official capital) and Dar es Salaam (largest city)
  • Uganda: Kampala
  • Zambia: Lusaka
  • Zimbabwe: Harare

Southern Africa

Southern Africa boasts stunning landscapes, diverse wildlife, and a blend of cultural influences. The countries in this region and their capitals are:

  • Angola: Luanda
  • Botswana: Gaborone
  • Eswatini (formerly Swaziland): Mbabane (administrative capital) and Lobamba (legislative capital)
  • Lesotho: Maseru
  • Namibia: Windhoek
  • South Africa: Pretoria (administrative capital), Bloemfontein (judicial capital), and Cape Town (legislative capital)
  • Zimbabwe: Harare

Africa’s diverse countries and capitals encompass a wealth of history, culture, and natural wonders. From the pyramids of Egypt to the vast savannahs of Kenya, each nation contributes to the rich tapestry of Africa’s heritage. As the continent continues to evolve and face various challenges, it is essential to recognize and celebrate the uniqueness of each African country. Understanding the diversity and complexity of Africa’s nations and capitals fosters appreciation for the continent’s vastness and the resilience of its people. As we explore and appreciate the distinctiveness of each country, we also embrace the shared humanity that unites Africa as a whole.